RSS

Brush of Angel’s Wings – Book Review

27 May

Booksneeze Book Review of “Brush of Angel’s Wings” by Ruth Reid

The story takes place in an Amish community in Michigan called Hope Falls. The main characters are Rachel, a single Amish girl  and Jordan who is back in the community, staying with his uncle, because he promised his mother he would give her Amish roots a chance. Another “character” is Nathaniel, an angel of God, whose job it is to *”shepherd them toward the path of healing and love.” ( *from book jacket)

Brush of Angel’s Wings is the first book I have read by author, Ruth Reid. I enjoyed the author’s style of writing, the way she told the story but I was less impressed by the story itself.

I have really enjoyed novels set in Amish country in the past, I think it was the “angel” part of this book that was what I didn’t care for. The angel’s role in this book did not “sit well” with me but this is just my opinion.

The author uses the authentic Pennsylvania Dutch dialogue and provides a glossary for those not familiar with this type of speech.

I would give this novel a 4 out of 5 rating – even though I didn’t care for the Angels and Demons inclusion in this book, the writing was well done and compelling.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Share your thoughts

 
