RSS

In His Name

29 Jan

“A GOOD name is better than precious perfume,” — Ecclesiastes 7:1a  Amplified

“A GOOD name is rather to be chosen than great riches, and loving favor than silver and gold.” -Prov. 22:1

The names of God are vast, as are His attributes. He is from everlasting to everlasting, He has no beginning and no end. 

“Before the mountains were brought forth or ever You had formed and given birth to the earth and the world, even from everlasting to everlasting You are God.”– – Psalm 90:2  Amplified

What do we call Him? Moses asked God that question when he met God on the mountain.

“Then Moses said to God, “Behold, I am going to the sons of Israel, and I will say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you.’ Now they may say to me, ‘What is His name?’ What shall I say to them?”  –Exodus 3:13

“God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM,” and He said, “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.'” God, furthermore, said to Moses, “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘The LORD, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you’ This is My name forever, this is My memorial name to all generations.” –Exodus 3:14,15

I AM – He Who Was, Who Is, and Who Will Be Always

El: “strong one”

Elohim: God’s sovereignity and His mighty work for Israel  

El Shaddai: God Almighty (Genesis 17:1, Psalm 91:1,2)

El Elyon: The Most High God (Psalm 9:2)

El Olam: The Everlasting God (Jeremiah 10:10)

Yahweh Jireh: The Lord will provide (Genesis 22:14)

Yahweh Shalom: The Lord is Peace (Judges 6:24)

Yahweh Sabbaoth: The Lord of Hosts (1Samuel 17:45)

Yahweh Ro’i: The Lord My Shepherd (Psalm 23)

Yahweh Elohim Israel: The Lord God of Israel (Judges 5:3)

Adonai: God as master, authority, provider (Genesis 18:2, 1Samuel 1:15)

These are only some of the names of God used throughout the Bible.

What do we call Him? I feel privleged to call Him Father. To be able to call on Him at all is amazing to me. The One who created the Heavens and Earth, all that exists…He created man in His image, for His purpose and to glorify Him. He desires to have a relationship with me! He wants to fellowship with me! O, Lord How Majestic Is Your Name in All the Earth! 

“Friendship with the LORD is reserved for those who fear him. With them he shares the secrets of his covenant.”– Psalm 25:14 (NLT)

“The LORD is like a father to his children, tender and compassionate to those who fear him.” — Psalm 103:13 (NLT)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 29, 2009 in Devotions, Inspiration, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Share your thoughts

 
