RSS

Hmm, I’ve been slacking off!

23 Nov

dsc02366I realise that I’ve been slacking off…shirking my blogging duties!

Not really a biggie, I know but it is something that I was trying to be faithful to and once again I am off track…oh well, I guess that’s why they say…”tomorrow is another day”…we get to start over.

Sometimes it’s just getting an inspiration, something to get me going. Usually when I’m ticked off, I have no problem coming up with an idea to blog about!

I know I haven’t been at this for long and it may be a bit soon to revisit a subject that I’ve already covered, but it has been on my mind, so I think I will go there, yet again.

The children’s Christmas song about Santa says: “He sees you when your sleeping, he knows when you’re awake, he knows if you’ve been bad or good so be good for goodness sake” and that reminds me of my post entitled; Nothing Can Be Hidden From God. Why do we continue to do what we know is wrong?

Psalm 139

“O Lord, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O Lord. You hem me in – behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain. Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become dark around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand. When I awake, I am still with you. If only you would slay the wicked O God! Away from me, you blood-thirsty men! They speak of you with evil intent; your adversaries misuse your name. Do I not hate those who hate you, O Lord, and abhor those who rise up against you? I have nothing but hatred for them; I count them my enemies. Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

This Psalm tells us just how well God knows us, knows our thoughts, our words, our ways, He created us and has ordained the number of our days and they are written in His book, He is everpresent and everlasting. Yes, He does see us when we’re sleeping, when we are awake and He knows if we’ve been bad or good but I think that is where the similarities between Santa and God end.

God is omniscient and omnipresent. He is all knowing and present in all places at all times. Nothing can be hidden from God…so why do we try, or why do we act like we are getting away with something? I would think that if “knowing” that Santa is checking to see if kids are good or bad influences their behavior, does knowing that God knows all and is ever-present influence our behavior? Just something to think about.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Share your thoughts

 
