RSS

Worry

26 Oct

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am a mom of 3 and the wife of a cop…I worry. Not as much as I used to but there are times when I have a knot in my stomach and a literal pain in my neck and whether I wish to believe it or not, I am worrying.

“When I look back on all these worries, I remember the story of the old man who said on his deathbed that he had had a lot of trouble in his life, most of which had never happened.”–Winston Churchill

My common sense tells me that worrying accomplishes nothing, but right or wrong, there are times when I worry. When I catch myself worrying, I take a couple of deep breaths and ask forgiveness from God who created the Heavens and the Earth and I remind myself that He is able, He knows my situation and He’s got it. As a mom and wife, I always think that I’ve got to fix everything and control everything and then I laugh at myself and say “who are you kidding?” I am not in control and I cannot and should not fix everything. Wake up call anyone?

“Most blessed is the man who believes in, trusts in and relies on the Lord, and whose hope and confidence the Lord is. For he shall be like a tree planted by the waters that spreads out its roots by the river; and it shall not see and fear when heat comes; but its leaf shall be green. It shall not be anxious and full of care in the year of drought, nor shall it cease yielding fruit.” — Jeremiah 17:7,8

Believes in, trusts in and relies on the Lord…whose hope and confidence the Lord is. When I am piling worry upon worry, am I believing in, trusting in, relying on the Lord? No. I am taking away from Him that which He has promised to take care of. In a sense I am subconsciously telling Him that I don’t think He can handle it. 

“Throw all your worry on him, because he cares for you.” — 1 Peter 5:7 International Standard Version 2008

“Turn all your anxiety over to God because He cares for you.”  GOD’s Word Translation

I know this, and yet I find myself still worrying and trying to fix things. It is a process as are all aspects of living the Christain life, we will only complete that process when we meet Him face-to-face. I still am learning daily how to relinquish control and turn my worries over to God and not take them back. 

“We spend precious hours fearing the inevitable. It would be wise to use that time adoring our families, cherishing our friends, and living our lives.” –Maya Angelou

“Yours, O LORD, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the victory and the majesty, indeed everything that is in the heavens and the earth; Yours is the dominion, O LORD, You exalt Yourself as head over all. Both riches and honor come from You, and You rule over all, and in Your hand is power and might; and it lies in Your hand to make great and to strengthen everyone. Now therefore, our God, we thank You, and praise Your glorious name. But who am I and who are my people that we should be able to offer as generously as this? For all things come from You, and from Your hand we have given You.” –1 Chronicles 29:11-14  NASB

Do we think that it is possible that God, as described in 1Chronicles 29:11-14, is not able to help us in our need? God is head over all, in His hand are power and might. He’s got it covered.

Everyday, I need to remind myself that God is able, He can handle anything that I am dealing with,  if I ask for His help, He will help in His time and according to His will for my life.

“Now to Him Who, by (in consequence of) the [action of His] power that is at work within us, is able to [carry out His purpose and] do superabundantly, far over and above all that we [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams] To Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations forever and ever. Amen (so be it).” — Ephesians 3:20-21 Amplified Bible

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 26, 2008 in Devotions, Inspiration, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Share your thoughts

 
